Lately

It’s hard to believe that summer is already winding to a close. Soon, we’ll be snuggling up in cozy sweaters and sipping hot cocoa. While I always look forward to the change of seasons, there are still a few more weeks of glorious summer to enjoy! Here are some highlights from my summer thus far:

In May, I visited San Diego for the first time. Southern California is pretty spectacular. I can see why people rave about it! It was a blast.

Beautiful view of the San Diego shoreline

Beautiful view of the San Diego shoreline. See the seal lounging in the sun??

The only thing I absolutely had to have in San Diego was a fish taco. These did not disappoint.... yum!

The only thing I absolutely had to have in San Diego was a fish taco. These did not disappoint…. yum!

Since I’m smack-dab in the middle of my twenties, summers are now filled with people getting married. I watched my friend Casey marry her love Mike in Vermont, and celebrated another good friend’s engagement back in Sioux Falls.

My beautiful college roommates at Casey and Mike's Vermont wedding

My beautiful college roommates at Casey and Mike’s Vermont wedding

Fab Five reunion, a summer tradition

Fab Five reunion, a summer tradition. Congrats on your engagement, Rachel and Peter!

Summer in Minnesota brings amazing local produce. I signed up for a CSA, which I’d been wanting to do for the past couple of years. Splitting a half-share with a friend was more than enough food for me, and it was so much fun to cook with different fruits and vegetables. Every box was like opening a Christmas present… the contents were always a surprise, and so bright and colorful! I loved reading the CSA’s bi-weekly newsletter, and browsing food blogs for exciting recipe ideas.

Glorious fruit and veggie bounty, straight from the farm. My first CSA experience has been so much fun!

Glorious fruit and veggie bounty, straight from the farm. My first CSA experience has been so much fun!

It wouldn’t truly be summer without some street food:

Andrew Zimmern's food truck at the Uptown Food Truck Festival

Andrew Zimmern’s food truck at the Uptown Food Truck Festival

I bookended this summer with another trip to California, this time to the northern part. My family and I went hiking in Yosemite, then spent a long weekend exploring San Francisco. As if I needed more reasons to be obsessed with this state! I love Minnesota, don’t get me wrong, but California is amazing. I’m so happy I got a chance to see two such different parts of the state. I can’t wait to go back!

Incredibly scenic Yosemite National Park

Incredibly scenic Yosemite National Park

The Zuni Cafe in San Francisco. Had to buy a souvenir cookbook

The iconic Zuni Cafe in San Francisco. Had to buy a souvenir cookbook, obvi.

The Ferry Building in San Francisco. I could've spent hours perusing this food mecca

The Ferry Building in San Francisco. I could’ve spent hours perusing this food mecca

That’s a quick overview of my summer thus far. It’s been jam-packed with traveling, hanging out with friends and family, and cooking (I also managed to squeeze in two summer classes and a part-time job at Anthropologie on the side). It was the perfect way to relax and enjoy myself before kicking it into high gear next month as I start my new adventures as a graduate student!

Xoxo

Leave a comment